Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the SxS world. I just got my alpine white SE and it has about 8 miles on it. I was just going to buy tires and put on my factory aluminum rims. Figured I would find a steel rim to mount up for a spare. My buddy has the twin to mine and was asking about buying the rims and tires as a set.

What are they worth? I know the tires aren't very desirable but the rims look decent.

·
Premium Member
557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, they are aluminum though, not white. The machine is white.

·
Registered
395 Posts
Yes, they are aluminum though, not white. The machine is white.
Right right. Missed a comma. Factory alpine white, fancy wheels.

I would say 200-300 total would be reasonable for them since there are so many cheaper aftermarket alternatives.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I paid 840 bucks for 4 STI HD3 14 x 7 rims 5+2 offset and 4 Maxxis VIPR 27" tires. Package deal tires and rims came mounted with chrome lugs and center caps.

Reactions: Wi_Rider and chief

·
Registered
718 Posts
I paid 840 bucks for 4 STI HD3 14 x 7 rims 5+2 offset and 4 Maxxis VIPR 27" tires. Package deal tires and rims came mounted with chrome lugs and center caps.
That's about what mine ran me. Same wheels with 26" Bighorns, but I didn't get lugs thrown in.

·
Super Moderator
1,834 Posts
How are the Maxxis Vipr's? They smooth at 40+? The ITP's all seem to be unbalanced. Even had the front balanced but still shakes at higher speeds. Think Maxxis does a better job at making a round semi balanced tire.

Not complaining to much since I'm running Mega's for mud duty. Once you get a few pounds of mud in the rims then the tire balance makes little difference. haha Not sure if I wanna go VIPR or Zilla's for my next set.

·
Registered
46 Posts