Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Wolverine and SxS's generally, have some mechanical aptitude having worked on various engines and done a number of mods on my trucks, sleds and quads over the years, however clutches are a grey area for me. I see lots of comments about modifying the Wolverine clutch when installing aftermarket tires/wheels. i also see comments about modifying the clutch when predominantly driving in rocky areas with lots of climbing or in areas with deep sand. Some people comment about just generally modifying the sheaves, etc., to improve overall performance.
So, for a guy with a Wolverine R-Spec who does a lot of hunting, mostly in mountainous areas; as well as a lot of touring around in various terrains from desert to swamps; frequently finds himself in mud and/or snow- do I need to modify my clutch or is it fine the way it is? What is involved in modifying a clutch? And, does modifying your clutch with aftermarket parts affect your warranty?
So, sitting here waiting to be educated . . .

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
had the dealer put in a ten dollar shim in my clutch and works for me,i lost about 4mpg off my top end speed,but find it was worth it for the gain in low end torque,no issues with warranty this way either.

·
Registered
12 Posts