Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Yamaha Tips guide that came with the UTV, says to use hi for climbing steep hills. Also you may use 4WD. It says to use lo and 4wd if needed for descending. I have heard that low was better for climbing steep hills. That hi will cause excess belt wear. How do you approach steep hills? I have tried it both way and they both seem to work. I have been using lo more as I ride because some of the hills are rocky and require you to slow down. This may be a dumb question but I am new to a cvt system.

The owners manual talks about changing the oil and not the filter. Why would you?

I hit 221miles but not 20 hrs. I check the air filter and oil. Both still look new/clean. Would it be crazy to go to 20hrs? Thanks

·
Registered
367 Posts
The reason for changing the oil is because of break in, while breaking in the engine metal parts wear into place causing little metal filings. These filings are what you want out of the motor not the dirty oil

·
Registered
242 Posts
All steep hills in low with diff lock, gentle hills usually in high, unless I am pulling equipment.

Just did the first service at 20 hours:
1. Oil and filter.
2. Gear oil.
3. New spark plug.
4. Cleaned air filter.

·
Registered
385 Posts
I personally always use 4 wheel drive and low on steep rocky hills ,I think it's easier on the machine because so many times you must slow down on a climb to get over some rocky and it gives you the power to take off again... a lot of people like to say I did that in high range and two wheel but and a lot of times it ok but the worst thing any rider could do is power out.

·
Registered
385 Posts
I'm going to put a hunterworks sheave and slug kit in mine as it will make the low end even better.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·