Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2021 X4
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The wife and kids and I are looking to move somewhere warmer, and smaller, and more affordable, but still with a livable wage, we have an influx of californians that have moved to Idaho and driven the house prices through the roof here! I am a journeyman electrician and she is In medical billing, our average home price here is now around 300k for something small, we are looking at texas and Alabama pretty heavily, we definitely need a decent wage vs cost of living as that is our primary motive is to end up better off financially, and the warmer weather and southern culture is just a huge bonus to us! We are very Pro 2nd amendment so we want to to lean more towards being a red state, good hunting and fishing and riding is also a plus, im looking for input from some of our southern friends on a state I may have over looked or info on the states I've listed!
Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
Come on down. I'm in Missouri. We are a divided State. Basically it's St Louis, Kansas City, and Columbia and then the rest is a free State. Some don't consider us Southern but they are wrong. I'm in the Booheel and its funny when I go to St. Louis people ask if I'm from Texas or something (orginally I'm from Oklahoma but we have similar accents). I prefer to go the Memphis if I need to go to a city for something. The further South I go to any City, the people just seem friendlier (one of the reasons I perfer to go to Memphis vs St Louis). Alabama or Texas would be great places to live but the money is probably more in Texas. However, being an electrician may be very profitable near the Alabama coast due to Hurricanes.

·
Registered
2021 X4
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3