Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ride trails where the average speed is 10-25 mph, but open up in some spots where you can run 35 plus for a mile or so. Do you ride mostly in low gear, then shift into high when the trail permits higher speeds, or do you stay in high all the time. How slow can you safely go in high range without risk of overheating the the CVT? I am new to the CVT world, so please don't bash me if this is a dumb question. I rode ATVs as a kid, but back then they were mainly shift models with an auto clutch.

·
Administrator
2,188 Posts
Moved post to appropriate area. I'm sure others will chime in. I run in High most of the time unless I am climbing hills or in really thick mud. At slow speeds, the belt is cooled better when shifted into low gear position:).

·
Registered
718 Posts
Personally, I run in low on the trails where I'm going no faster than 15-20 mph. If I'm opening it up a little ill stop and shift into high.

Reactions: Kirk57 and TINKEN

·
Premium Member
523 Posts
Good question. I've wondered the same. With my Grizzly I've probably used low 10 times in 7500 miles, but I've read that guys use low range a good bit in a SxS.
Personally I use high almost exclusively around home, unless I'm trying to maneuver in a tight spot. When I ride technical stuff like Wind rock, etc I use low most of the time

·
Engineer
1,807 Posts
After my Hunterworks Monster sheave, titanium spring and Detroit locker Wet Clutch, I climbed to the top of Mount Everest pulling 35" BFG's, two stuck Razors, 12 climbers and a pack mule, all in high gear! :cool: - lol