Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As many of us have come to find out, the suspension of the X4 leaves a lot to be desired. My other machine is a wildcat sport with elkas. Every ride, I found myself hating the stock suspension more and more. The addition of carnivore tires and removing the front sway bar made it tolerable at best. I began searching for shock options a few months ago. I found that my options were R spec shocks, Walker Evans, Bandit, 814s or possibly respringing the Stock shocks (JBS). The price of the Rspec shocks and possibly having to respring them, wasn't appealing to me. The Walker Evans had great reviews but were somewhere around 1800ish to get them. I found very few people running the 814s and there were as many negative reviews as positive reviews, at least for the x4. I was pretty much left with the bandits. I have some experience using their springs on my wifes wildcat trail. Using their springs on the stock fox shocks totally transformed her machine. I contacted them and inquired about a military discount. To my surprise, they offered one even though the shocks are already listed as being on sale. This brought them down to a very enticing price and I decided to pull the trigger. Here are some pics and my initial thoughts.