Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2021 X2 RSPEC 850
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m still a newbie to side by sides and dry sump motors but an old hand at farm equipment maintenance. A cursory check of local dealers revealed so much “diversity” in hours and cost that I figured to do all the services myself. As I was breaking the RSPEC in, I was on here reading and absorbing everyone’s wisdom. Long story short, I just spent 8 hours doing the first service and made a few observations along the way:
1. Use 6 sided sockets.
2. Invest in the 64mm oil filter cap wrench. I had one, it's the same size used on one of the Kubota oil filters.
3. Lay in a supply of panel retainers. They are cheap and easier to replace than save.
4. When loosening things for the first time, slow and steady saves the day. Do not channel King Kong.
5. If it has a torque value, use a torque wrench. The calibration equipment for my breakaway wrist was rendered obsolete decades ago. My 3/8” torque wrench does go below 10 ft lbs, so the one thing I had to buy was a ¼” in lb torque wrench for the oil tank drain and spark plugs.
6. When refilling the engine oil, the advice published on this forum is better than the owner’s manual. Install the engine cap before adding oil to the tank. Much has been said about the complexity of checking oil levels in Yamaha’s dry sump motors. I started with 2.6L and added in .2L increments, checking every time with engine at temp and not screwing the stick in. Stopped at 3.3L and still nothing on the stick. I’ll give it a good run and see where it’s at afterwards.
UPDATE: Had a good ride, checked the oil when I got back. Showed 2/3 on the hashmarks. All is well.
7. I opted to drain everything and then refill. Others may focus on one component at a time. Do what works for you. The air intake was sealed well and empty.