Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2020 X2 XT-R 850
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, so I had to remove and replace my 2" front Perfex lift to see if it was causing my 4wd vibration. It wasn't. However, in removing and replacing, jacking up, and watching the droop, etc. it got me thinking.

In MY case...I adjusted the preload on all 4 of my shocks to the SOFTEST LOWEST setting that I could...effectively LOWERING the whole car. Wanting to maintain the SOFT RIDE, but wanting it a little higher in the front...I installed a PERFEX 2" lift in the FRONT ONLY to get my ride height back. And I've been using it like that for a few months with no issues and I like the stance AND The ride.
Only concern this way: Possibly too much droop (when hanging a front wheel) and possibility of breaking cv joint...I've been contemplating limiting straps. Other than that, I like it. Front sway bar left installed to partially compensate till I get limiting straps.

So today, I removed the lift and noticed the "droop" or "sag" required to get the lift out and reinstall as stock, then put the lift back in. When I was out this last weekend, I bottomed out on the front end once or twice. My goal is to keep the height and keep the nice ride...hence lowering the shock adjustment, then installing the 2" lift. In looking at the geometry and sag today...it looks like I can remove the lift, adjust the preload on the shock (really, not adjusting preload, it's just adjusting SAG...literally RIDE HEIGHT) and achieve the same SOFT ride that I have now, the same exact LIFT that I have now...ACHIEVE MORE TRAVEL IN THE SHOCK and ELIMINATE THE NEED FOR LIMITING STRAPS.

Am I thinking wrong?