Yamaha Wolverine Forum banner

Fox Shocks

5K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  wolvymanx4 
#1 ·
I'm trying to smooth out my ride on my 4 seater Wolverine. A lot of the trails in Utah are very rocky. Last Wednesday I went for the day up by Strawberry reservoir by Daniels summit. The trail was incredible rocky. Any of you have experience with adding fox shocks to your Wolverine? Were you pleased with the addition? Any input on how to smooth out your ride is welcomed.

Thanks,

Rick

#2 ·
What tire pressure you running? I find anything over 8 psi doesn’t absorb rocks very well. It does depend on the tire though. On my gen 1 with the basic shocks, I just reduced the preload. On my 2020 kyb reservoir shocks, I soften the slow dampening setting.

#3 ·
I have no experience with Fox shocks, and found the stock settings of the KYB shocks on my 2020 X2 quite harsh. After reducing the compression damping and lowering the air pressure in the tires to 12psi (15psi stock) I was satisfied with the reduction in harshness.

Reactions: TimBo
#4 ·
They're stock on mine and seem to work as intended with a lot of adjustment. However, I do run my spring tight, more lift and minimize bottoming. This doesn't add too a smooth situation I gather but its not too rough IMO very good on sensible trails. If I solftened the springs my A-arms would be dead level or pitched upward. Thats no good, travel would be less. I had considered a spring spacer insert but I am not sure I can get them into the coils to see. They cheap enough if I can't use them.

#5 · (Edited)
Running the shock fully extended will cause a rough ride too. Granted you loose ground clearance but the travel decrease isn't real as if you are running full preload and shock fully extended your not going to be using full travel either. The suspension must be able to drop out and follow the terrain or the ride will be upset the whole time.